Indian Postal System

Check IFSC and MICR Codes of any bank here

The Indian Postal System is the oldest and the cheapest mode of communication. The era of the Postal Service was started during the 14th Century by an Arab Traveler named Iban Battutah. The first post office was established by the British East India Company in the year 1764 in Bombay. The Headquarter of the Indian Postal Service is located in New Delhi, India. The first stamp in India was introduced in 1st October 1854.


India has the largest network of post offices. There are approx of 1,55,015 Post Offices out which 1,39,144 post offices are located in the rural areas and 23,344 post offices are located in the urban areas. The approx number of employees are 5,20,191. India has been divided into 22 post circles. Each circle is headed  by a Chief Postmaster General. Ghaziabad meets the training and development needs of the Postal Service Officers and other Gazetted Officers.


Achievements and Developments

In the year 2004, the Indian Post Service celebrated the 150th year of the Postal Department. In the year 2009-10 the Post Offices were computerized. Computer Hardwares were upgraded in almost 92 Post Offices. About 500 Post Offices were modernized by the “Project Arrow”.

Project Arrow- This was introduced in the year 2008. This project was started for the gradation of the Post Offices in the urban and the rural areas both in terms of upgrading and “quality of service” provided to the customers.

About 1304 Post Offices have been networked with the National Data Center and around 5170 Post Offices have been networked through the Broad Band networks.


Postal Services

The Indian Postal System provided a various types of services depending upon the needs of the people and location and finance of the people. The different services are

  • e-post/e-bill post
  • speed post
  • business post
  • express parcel post
  • media post
  • retail post
  • speed net
  • international mails
  • international EMS

These are the postal services that are served by the Indian Post System.


Financial Services

The different types of Financial Services served by the Indian Postal System are-

  • Money Order- was started in 1880
  • International Money Transfer Services
  • Post-Office Savings Bank
  • Instant Money Order
  • Postal Life Insurance


The PIN-CODE system was introduced in India on 15th August 1972 by Shriram Bhikaji Velankar. It is also called as Postal Index Number. There are 9 PIN Zones in India, including 8 regional zone and 1 functional zone(for the Indian Army). The PIN-CODES are six digit long. The first digit represents the region, the second represents the sub-region, the third digit identifies the district of the region and the last three digits are assigned as the post office codes.



Post Offices are the one of such mediums which can be helpful for every financial sector of people. It is also used to post the application forms of different Government Identity Cards such as- Passport, Aadhaar etc. The Department of Posts on 26th September 2013 introduced the Pin-Code of the Supreme Court of India (110201).


Central Bank of India is a government owned bank which is one of the oldest and largest commercial banks in India. The bank has over 4730 branches, 5319 ATMs, and 4 extensions counters across 27 Indian states and three Union Territories.

The bank offers various types of banking facilities such as

  •  Loans
  •  Savings Accounts
  • Fixed Deposit Accounts
  •  NRI (Non – Resident of India) Banking
  •  Internet Banking
  •  Debit Card
  • Credit Card


IFSC Code Central Bank of India, Chennai


Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has launched IFSC codes which stand for Indian Financial System Code. This code was introduced by the RBI in order to ensure security and safety of the transactions. IFSC Code also helps in indentifying the bank and branch where the account of the beneficiary is held. RBI has also mandated IFSC code for different bank transactions. The IFSC code helps in recognizing each and every bank and its branches separately. The IFSC Codes follow two payment and settlement systems in India which are as follows:

(a)  RTGS (Real Time Gross Settlement)

(b)NEFT (National Electronic Fund Transfer)

IFSC Code is 11- digit code assigned by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) to every bank as a part of NEFT / RTGS.

In IFS Code

(a) First four characters identify the bank name i.e. CBIN

(b) The fifth character is always 0

(c) And the last character represents the branch address i.e. 282331

[The IFS code used in above example is of Shakthi Towers, 766, Anna Salai, Chennai i.e., “CBIN0282331”].


Chennai is the capital of Tamil Nadu and it has played a really important role in the traditional, historical and academic growth of the country. It is also considered to be the cultural hub of South India which is famous for its rich heritage in classical dance, music, architecture, sculpture, crafts etc.